Undergraduate Microbiology Contacts

The microbiology program at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln is an interdepartmental major. Faculty from several different departments are affiliated with the microbiology program.

The microbiology program is led by Dr. Karrie Weber, assisted by an advisory committee.

General Information

If you need general information about UNL's microbiology program, please send an email to microbiology@unl.edu  or call 402-472-8704.

Academic Advising

If you need advising assistance, please contact Marybeth Helmink, Kaitlin Ferris, or Dr. Brandi Sigmon.

Karrie Weber

Dr. Karrie Weber

Associate Professor and Director of the Undergraduate Microbiology Program

232 Manter Hall
Phone: 402-472-2739
kweber2@unl.edu

Brandi Sigmon

Dr. Brandi Sigmon

Assistant Professor of Practice
Academic Success Coordinator

E249A Beadle Center
Phone: 402-472-2604
bsigmon2@unl.edu

Brandi Sigmon

Marybeth Helmink

Academic/Career Advisor
College of Ag Sciences & Natural Resources

149B Hardin Hall - East Campus
Phone: 402-472-8823
mbhelmink@unl.edu

Kaitlin Ferris

Kaitlin Ferris

Academic/Career Advisor
College of Arts & Sciences

107 Oldfather
Phone: Phone: 402-472-4190 
kferris15@unl.edu

Jennifer Frasier-Davison

Jennifer Frasier-Davison

Administrative Assistant
Microbiology Program

E249 Beadle Center
Phone: 402-472-8704 
jfrasier-davison2@unl.edu

Advisory Committee Members

Paul Blum
Dr. Paul Blum Professor, School of Biological Sciences

402-472-2769
pblum1@unl.edu

Kenneth Nickerson
Dr. Kenneth Nickerson Professor, School of Biological Sciences

402-472-2253
knickerson1@unl.edu

Robert Hutkins
Dr. Robert Hutkins Professor, Food Science and Technology

402-472-2820
hutkins@unl.edu

Rodney Moxley
Dr. Rodney Moxley Professor, Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences

402-472-8460
rmoxley1@unl.edu

Nicole Buan
Dr. Nicole Buan Associate Professor, Biochemistry

402-472-7413
nbuan@unl.edu

Luwan Zhang
Dr. Luwen Zhang Professor, School of Biological Sciences

402-472-5905
lzhang2@unl.edu