Undergraduate Microbiology Contacts

The undergraduate microbiology program at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln is an interdepartmental major. Faculty from several different departments are affiliated with the microbiology program.

The microbiology program is led by Dr. Jim Alfano, assisted by an advisory committee.

General Information

If you need general information about UNL's microbiology program, please send an email to microbiology@unl.edu  or call 402-472-0395.

Academic Advising

If you need advising assistance, please contact Dr. Alfano.

Jim Alfano

Dr. Jim Alfano Charles Bessey Professor and Director of the Undergraduate Microbiology Program

N315 Beadle Center
Phone: 402-472-0395
Fax: 402-472-3139
jalfano2@unl.edu

Brandi Sigmon

Brandi Sigmon Advisor
Undergraduate Microbiology Program

E249A Beadle Center
Phone: 402-472-2604
bsigmon2@unl.edu

Michelle Muir-Lewis

Michelle Muir-Lewis Administrative Assistant
Undergraduate Microbiology Program

E249 Beadle Center
Phone: 402-472-8704
mmuir-lewis2@unl.edu

Advisory Committee Members

Paul Blum
Dr. Paul Blum Professor, School of Biological Sciences

402-472-2769
pblum1@unl.edu

Kenneth Nickerson
Dr. Kenneth Nickerson Professor, School of Biological Sciences

402-472-2253
knickerson1@unl.edu

Robert Hutkins
Dr. Robert Hutkins Professor, Food Science and Technology

402-472-2820
hutkins@unl.edu

Rodney Moxley
Dr. Rodney Moxley Professor, Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences

402-472-8460
rmoxley1@unl.edu

Nicole Baun
Dr. Nicole Baun Asst. Professor, Biochemistry

402-472-7413
nbuan@unl.edu

Luwan Zhang
Dr. Luwen Zhang Professor, School of Biological Sciences

402-472-5905
lzhang2@unl.edu